Record Store Day 2021: The new Expanded Face Dances is out today!

This year’s release from The Who for Record Store Day 2021 is an expanded two LP set of their 1981 album Face Dances celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2021. LP1 is the original album with its nine tracks. LP2, entitled Face Dances Part 3 has another nine tracks. The 2LP set was mastered by Jon Astley at Close To the Edge and cut at half speed by Miles Showell at Abbey Road.

LP1: The Original Album

Side One:
1. You Better You Bet
2. Don’t Let Go The Coat
3. Cache Cache
4. The Quiet One
5. Did You Steal My Money

Side Two
1. How Can You Do It Alone
2. Daily Records
3. You
4. Another Tricky Day

LP2: Face Dances Part 3

Side 3 
1. I Like Nightmares
2. It’s In You
3. Somebody Saved Me
4. Dance It Away (previously unreleased) with Roger on lead vocals
5. Don’t Let Go The Coat (previously unreleased) with Pete on lead vocals

Side 4 All tracks live at Grugahalle, Essen, 28 March 1981 and broadcast live for Rockpalast
1. Don’t Let Go The Coat (previously unreleased)
2. You Better You Bet (previously unreleased)
3. The Quiet One (previously unreleased)
4. Another Tricky Day (previously unreleased)

The album cover features the original Peter Blake design front and back. LP1 is on bright blue heavyweight vinyl with coloured labels and LP2 is on bright yellow heavyweight vinyl with coloured labels. In addition there are four 12″ x 12″ fine art prints included in the package with four portraits on each print.

To find your local participating store just follow the links . . .

Record Store Day UK

Record Store Day US

11 thoughts on “Record Store Day 2021: The new Expanded Face Dances is out today!”

  1. peter lawton says:

    will there be a cd of these albums

    1. The Who says:

      No. Just vinyl.

  2. Gary Crosby Who Fan says:

    Your dog keeps licking my nose and chewing up all those letters saying you better!

  3. MARCELO says:

    Is it possible to buy it being here in Brazil? Tks!

  4. Barry Hall says:

    John looks so cool!

  5. Perry James says:

    Love Pete’s take on “Don’t Let Go the Coat”, maybe even better than the album version. No disrespect to Roger. Love the prints and the colored vinyl! Thank you for putting this out!

  6. will says:

    This looks incredible, not my favourite The Who album, but the extras are more than enough for this to go on my birthday wishlist…
    Long live The Who and long live vinyl!

  7. Steven says:

    Very Under-rated record. I love ‘Daily Records’, ‘Don’t Let Go the Coat’ and ‘Cache Cache’. Deserved much more recognition than it got.

  8. John Bradley says:

    I thought there was a download code that came with this purchase? I just received my order and there’s no code or link with it. Any help would be greatly appreciated, as I do not have a turntable to create a digital version and only purchased because previous comments here said that there was a download code.

    1. The Who says:

      Hi John, there should have been a download code from The Sound of Vinyl in the sleeve. Was your record still in the shrinkwrap when you got it? If not, it may have been removed or fallen out.

  9. Ivory says:

    Only the copies sold in Europe contained the code.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.