Who’s Next

Who’s Next was released by Track Records in August 1971 (2408 102), and in the 1980s as a CD (Polydor 813651-2) with a remixed and remastered CD (Polydor 527760-2) following in 1995. In 2003 a Deluxe Edition 2-CD set (Polydor 113 056-2), was released. The original album was re-issued on heavyweight vinyl in 2012 (Polydor 3715614). In the US it was released by MCA (Decca 79182) in August, as a CD (MCA MCAD 37217), as a Gold Edition (MCAD-37217), as a remixed and remastered CD (MCA-11269) in 1995, and is also now available as a Deluxe 2-CD package (MCA 088 113 056-2), released in 2003.


  1. Baba O’Riley
  2. Bargain
  3. Love Ain’t For Keeping
  4. My Wife
  5. The Song Is Over
  6. Getting In Tune
  7. Going Mobile
  8. Behind Blue Eyes
  9. Won’t Get Fooled Again

Who’s Next started life as a Pete Townshend concept entitled Lifehouse, which contained enough songs for a double album, but the project was eventually reduced to a single LP. Recordings for the album began in New York with Kit Lambert as producer, but the band weren’t satisfied with the results and returned to London to re-record them at Olympic Studios in Barnes with Glyn Johns. Most of the songs recorded with Johns appeared on Who’s Next while the leftovers appeared on singles and later, Odds & Sods (see album). Who’s Next became the only Who album to make #1 in the UK charts. It peaked at #4 in the US, but songs from the album are continually played on American classic rock radio stations to this day. All songs by Pete Townshend unless otherwise noted.  There are now two upgraded CD versions of the album. The first followed the format of including several bonus tracks on a single disc. The Deluxe Edition dropped four of these bonus tracks but included additional tracks from the New York Record Plant sessions, some of which feature Leslie West on guitar and Al Kooper on organ. The second disc features an almost complete show at London’s Young Vic Theatre when Pete was trying to bring Lifehouse to fruition.

Produced by The Who
Associate producer Glyn Johns

Sleeve design by Kosh.
Photography by Ethan A. Russell

The Deluxe Edition CD contains six additional tracks on CD1:

  1. Baby Don’t You Do It (Recorded at the Record Plant, New York on March 16, 1971)
  2. Getting In Tune (Recorded at the Record Plant on 18 March 1971 An alternative version)
  3. Pure And Easy (Recorded at the Record Plant, on 17-18 March 1971. This is the original version)
  4. Love Ain’t For Keeping (From the Record Plant sessions, 17 March 1971 An alternative version)
  5. Behind Blue Eyes (Recorded at the Record Plant, on 17-18 March 1971. This is the original version)
  6. Won’t Get Fooled Again (From the Record Plant sessions, recorded 16 March 1971 An alternative version)

Deluxe Edition Disc Two: Live at the Young Vic

  1. Love Ain’t For Keeping
  2. Pure And Easy
  3. Young Man Blues
  4. Time Is Passing
  5. Behind Blue Eyes
  6. I Don’t Even Know Myself
  7. Too Much Of Anything
  8. Getting In Tune
  9. Bargain
  10. Water
  11. My Generation
  12. Road Runner
  13. Naked Eye
  14. Won’t Get Fooled Again