The Who BBC Sessions

The Who BBC Sessions (UK: LP Polydor 547 72701, CD: Polydor 547 727-2; US CD: MCA 088 111 960-2) was released in February 2000. Thanks to the BBC  stranglehold over UK radio needle time for record airplay during the Sixties, Musicians Union regulations often required ‘live’ recordings for broadcast. While an annoyance for many groups and artists of the time, these historical artifacts (the ones that survived the BBC archive purges) are now a collector’s delight and provide an insight into The Who’s true musical abilities when forced to duplicate their recorded sound. In some instances both band and management would often try to get out of this situation by submitting remixed studio tapes over which Roger would sing a new vocal take.


  1. My Generation (Radio 1 Jingle)
  2. Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere
  3. Good Lovin’
  4. Just You And Me, Darlin’
  5. Leaving Here
  6. My Generation
  7. The Good’s Gone
  8. La-La-La-Lies
  9. Substitute
  10. Man With Money
  11. Dancing In The Street
  12. Disguises
  13. I’m A Boy
  14. Run Run Run
  15. Boris the Spider
  16. Happy Jack
  17. See My Way
  18. Pictures Of Lily
  19. A Quick One, While He’s Away
  20. Substitute (Version 2)
  21. The Seeker
  22. I’m Free
  23. Shakin’ All Over / Spoonful (Medley)
  24. Relay
  25. Long Live Rock
  26. Boris The Spider (Radio 1 Jingle)

Mastered by Jon Astley at Close To the Edge

Artwork and design by Andie Airfix at Sartori.
Front cover photograph by Art Kane.
Liner notes by Andy Neill

The US track list eliminated ‘Man With Money’ and edited out the few lines from ‘Spoonful’ contained in the track 23 medley. A bonus disk of BBC versions, available only in the US through the Best Buy chain, accompanied the initial release of BBC Sessions. Tracks: 1. Townshend Talks Tommy 2. Pinball Wizard 3. See Me, Feel Me 4. I Don’t Even Know Myself 5. I Can See For Miles 6. Heaven And Hell 7. The Seeker 8. Summertime Blues