Quadrophenia was originally released as a double album by Track Records in November 1973 (Track 2657 013). Released to coincide with The Who’s first UK and US tours for two years, it reached #2 in both countries’ album charts. The first CD version (Polydor 831 072-2) was released in the early 1980s, followed by a remastered double CD in 1996 (Polydor 531 971-2).  In the US it was released in October 1973 (MCA2 10004), followed by a CD (MCA MCAD 2-6895), a remastered gold disc (MFSL UDCD 2-550) and in 1996, a remixed and remastered version (MCA MCAD2-11463). Quadrophenia was re-issued in 2011 on heavyweight vinyl in its original LP format including gatefold sleeve and 44-page book (Polydor 2780504). 2011 also saw the release of Quadrophenia: Director’s Cut Super Deluxe box set (see BOX SETS).


  1. I Am The Sea
  2. The Real Me
  3. Quadrophenia
  4. Cut My Hair
  5. The Punk And the Godfather
  6. I’m One
  7. The Dirty Jobs
  8. Helpless Dancer (Roger’s Theme)
  9. Is It In My Head?
  10. I’ve Had Enough
  11. 5’15
  12. Sea And Sand
  13. Drowned
  14. Bell Boy (Keith’s Theme)
  15. Doctor Jimmy (John’s Theme)
  16. The Rock
  17. Love Reign O’er Me (Pete’s Theme)

Produced by The Who

Engineer: Ron Nevison

Recorded at The Kitchen, Battersea (Ramport Studios)

Front cover photography and design by Graham Hughes from an idea by Roger Daltrey
Booklet and back cover photography by Ethan A. Russsell