The House That Track Built

The House That Track Built was a sampler album released on Track Records (613016) on 1 September 1969. It includes three tracks by The Who including a studio version of ‘Summertime Blues’. The Thunderclap Newman track ‘Wilhelmina’ was produced by Pete Townshend. Pete was also the associate producer, along with Kit Lambert, of ‘Fire’ by The Crazy World Of Arthur Brown’.

Currently out of print. You may be able to find second-hand copies.


  1. Magic Bus – The Who
  2. All Along The Watchtower – The Jimi Hendrix Experience
  3. Lover Power – The Sand Pebbles
  4. Young Man Blues – The Who
  5. If This Is Love (I’d Rather Be Lonely) – Precisions
  6. Wilhemina – Thunderclap Newman
  7. Desdemona – John’s Children
  8. Fire – The Crazy World Of Arthur Brown
  9. Purple Haze – The Jimi Hendrix Experience
  10. (I Wanna) Testify – The Parliaments
  11. If I Had A Ribbon Bow – Fairport Convention
  12. The Devil’s Grip – The Crazy World Of Arthur Brown
  13. A Quick One, While He’s Away – The Who

Cover design by David King