Face Dances

Face Dances was originally released in the UK on 16 March 1981 (Polydor 2302 106 WHOD 5037) and as a remastered CD in 1997 (Polydor 537 695-2). It was reissued on heavyweight vinyl in 2012 (Polydor 3715712).

It was released simultaneously in the US by Warner Bros (WB HS 3516) and as a CD (WB 3516-2), later reissued by MCA (MCAD 25-25987, MFSL 1-115). It is currently available as a remixed and remastered CD (MCA MCAD-11634) issued in 1997.


  1. You Better You Bet
  2. Don’t Let Go The Coat
  3. Cache Cache
  4. The Quiet One
  5. Did You Steal My Money?
  6. How Can You Do It Alone?
  7. Daily Records
  8. You
  9. Another Tricky Day

After the death of Keith Moon, The Who re-grouped with Kenney Jones on drums and, initially, concentrated on live work. The new look Who launched themselves in a barrage of publicity, playing their first concert at London’s Rainbow Theatre on 2 May 1979. It wasn’t until over a year later that work began on Face Dances. Aside from the arrival of Kenney Jones, there were other changes in the traditional Who modus operandi: John ‘Rabbit’ Bundrick played keyboards on stage and on some of the newer numbers Roger played guitar on stage for the first time since the days of The Detours in 1962.

Bonus tracks on the 1997 remastered CD

  1. I Like Nightmares
  2. It’s In You
  3. Somebody Saved Me
  4. How Can You Do It Alone? (Live)
  5. The Quiet One (Live)

Produced by Bill Szymczyk

Original sleeve design by Peter Blake.

Portraits of The Who by Bill Jacklin, Tom Phillips, Colin Self, Richard Hamilton, Mike Andrews, Allen Jones, David Inshaw, David Hockney, Clive Barker, R.B. Kitaj, Howard Hodgkin, Patrick Caulfield, Peter Blake, Joe Tilson, Patrick Procktor and David Tindle.

Graphics by Richard Evans.